Skip to content

In the 1980s a group of like minded individuals worked together to build our Wakefield Health Centre.  Their aim was to ensure a medical practice would continue to serve the wider Wakefield community, and many local families donated towards the costs.

The Wakefield and Districts Health Trust was established in 2016 to formally administer the ongoing maintenance of the Wakefield Health Centre building.  We are grateful that three founding members, Christeen Mackenzie, Donald Ladley and Evan Baigent continue to support our work as Trustees today.

While our primary focus is maintaining the Wakefield Health Centre, we also support medical and health related services in the wider community.  One of our initiatives is the funding and maintenance of 14 Automatic External Defibrillators or AEDs in Wakefield, Spring Grove, Dovedale, Belgrove, Kohatu, Tadmor, Golden Downs, Glenhope and St Arnaud.  You can find more information and download the excellent AED Location app here

We are currently planning building improvements to the Wakefield Health Centre to accommodate the growing population in the wider Wakefield area.

The Trust meets the last Tuesday of the month and any queries can be emailed to us.

Current Trust Members 2023/24

Chair: Julie McLeod

Deputy Chair: Murray Hendrickson

Treasurer: Don Everitt

Secretary: Susan Shaw

Members: Christeen Mackenzie, Donald Ladley and Evan Baigent

GP Representatives: Gavin Drummond (Practice Manager), Dr Pip de Hamel (GP)

Patron: Tim King, Mayor of Tasman